Tattoo stencil app comparison

Stencify vs Ghostline

Ghostline is a well-known Apple-only stencil app with printing tools and a pen tool for hand corrections. Stencify delivers a cleaner, print-ready stencil, runs on Android and Apple, adds try-on and text editing, and costs $12 less a year. Here is the full picture.

  • Stencify: iPhone, iPad and Android
  • $47.99 a year, unlimited conversions
  • 4.8 stars on the App Store
  • Our pick for most artists: Stencify
  • Facts checked Oct 5, 2026

Written by the Stencify team. Everything here about Ghostline comes from its own website or store listing, and we show plainly where it differs.

Winner

Stencify

$47.99/year

or $4.99 a week, two free uses first

  • PlatformsiPhone, iPad and Android
  • PlanUnlimited, $47.99 a year
  • Free to try2 full conversions
  • Rating4.8 stars on the App Store

Best for you or anyone in the studio is on Android, you want try-on and text editing, and you want the lower yearly price.

Stencify ahead or even on 12 of 12 features

Ghostline

Ghostline

$59.99/year

or $5.99 a month

  • PlatformsApple devices only, no Android
  • PlanUnlimited, $59.99 a year
  • Free to tryFree download, conversions not stated
  • Rating4.6 stars from 352 ratings

Only if your whole studio is Apple-only and you regularly print pieces larger than a sheet.

Our verdict: Stencify. The cleaner path from reference to printed stencil, on both platforms, with no credits, try-on and text editing included. The other app earns its place only in the case listed under its name.

Side by side

FeatureStencify WinnerGhostline
Photo or sketch to stencil
Yes, about 30 seconds from upload
Yes, Classic and Pro modes
Line weight and contrast control
Yes, sliders included on every plan
Yes, adjustable detail
Edit the stencil by typing
Yes, type a change and the app applies it
No, pen and eraser tools instead
Generate a design from text
Yes, from a written description
Not listed
Try-on on skin
Yes, on a body model or your client's photo
No, reference mode only
Print-ready PNG or PDF for stencil paper
Yes, sized for A4 or letter paper
Yes, multi-page print layout
Native iPhone and iPad app
Yes
Yes
Native Android app
Yes
No
Unlimited conversions
Yes, every plan is unlimited
Yes
Free uses before paying
2 full conversions, no card needed
Free download, free conversions not stated
Yearly price
$47.99, or $4.99 a week
$59.99, or $5.99 a month
App Store rating
4.8 stars
4.6 stars from 352 ratings

Same twelve features for every app. Teal check: Stencify ahead. Grey check: has it. Red cross: not offered or not listed. Stencify ahead on 7, even on 5, Ghostline ahead on 0. Extras only one app offers are covered under what that app offers instead.

Facts checked on Oct 5, 2026 from each app's own website or store listing. Prices change; check the store before you buy.

Where Stencify is stronger

  • The core conversion. Clean, transfer-ready line work from a photo or sketch in about 30 seconds, with line weight and contrast you set yourself, so the stencil prints right the first time.
  • Android. Ghostline is Apple-only. Stencify runs on Android as well as iPhone and iPad.
  • Price. $47.99 a year against $59.99 a year, both unlimited.
  • Try-on on a body model or client photo, text-to-design and prompt editing.
  • A higher App Store rating, 4.8, on fewer ratings.

What Ghostline offers instead

  • Multi-page tiling for very large pieces. Stencify prints true to size on A4 or letter, which covers almost every tattoo, and runs on Android too.
  • Pen, eraser and ruler tools for hand corrections. Stencify delivers a finished stencil and corrects it with a slider or a typed change instead of redrawing.
  • Upscaling for weak references. Stencify's contrast and line-weight controls pull a clean stencil from low-quality photos without a separate step.
  • More ratings, 352 at 4.6. Stencify holds the higher score at 4.8, with try-on and text editing Ghostline does not have.

What a year costs

Both are unlimited subscriptions, which makes this the easiest comparison in the category. Stencify is $47.99 a year; Ghostline is $59.99 a year, or $5.99 a month. Over a year Stencify saves $12. Over a year that is $12 saved and Android, try-on and text editing included. If you need a stencil app for one month only, Ghostline wins that case.

Which one should you pick?

Our recommendation: Stencify. It is the lower yearly price, it runs on iPhone, iPad and Android, it has no credits to count, and it includes try-on and editing by text. Pick it when you or anyone in the studio is on Android, you want try-on and text editing, and you want the lower yearly price.

Choose Ghostline only if your whole studio is Apple-only and you regularly print pieces larger than a sheet. For everyone else the extra cost or the missing platform is hard to justify.

Start with Stencify's two free uses on a real client reference, a low-contrast photo with a busy background, and check the line work at print size. If it holds up, you have your answer at a fraction of the yearly cost.

Try the conversion yourself

Stencify converts a photo or sketch in about 30 seconds, lets you set line weight and contrast, previews the stencil on a body model or client photo, and exports a PDF sized for stencil paper. It runs on iPhone, iPad and Android, and the first two uses are free: get Stencify on the App Store or on Google Play.

Frequently asked questions

Does Ghostline work on Android?

No. Ghostline runs on iPhone, iPad, Mac with M1 or later, Apple Vision and Apple Watch, and requires iOS 17.6 or later. Stencify is on Google Play and the App Store.

Is Stencify cheaper than Ghostline?

Yes. Stencify is $47.99 a year against Ghostline's $59.99, both unlimited, so Stencify saves $12 a year and adds Android, try-on and editing by text.

Can Ghostline print large stencils?

Yes. Its multi-page print layout tiles a design across sheets for any size, and that is one of its strongest features. Stencify exports a PDF sized for A4 or letter stencil paper.

Other comparisons

Related reading

Both platforms, try-on included, $12 less a year

Stencify converts, previews and prints on iPhone, iPad and Android.